Sober 30 Days

Today I am sober 30 days~ I couldn’t be happier.  I’m happy because I choose to reach out and joined AA.  I think that was really important to me that I had a choice. I wasn’t forced into rehab or had an intervention staged by family or friends. Even better no court system or the law forced me to seek a 12 step program.  I decided I had enough.  I decided I wanted to feel better.  I decided that after trying to moderate on my own or quit for so many XX days wasn’t the answer or going to help me feel better. I did it on my own terms and only I could of made the decision on what was best for me and essentially my children and family.

If I don’t want it, no one else can make it happen for me.

However I do want it.  I want sobriety and all the freedom that comes with it.  It may not always be easy and being sober won’t make everyday problems go away but hopefully with the help of a 12 step program, I will be able to face the “hard stuff” without numbing or isolating myself.   

 

12 thoughts on “Sober 30 Days

  1. Congrats, Momma Bee. 30 days is something to be proud of. It’s so great when the clarity starts to come back and your body begins bouncing back. All such great moments. Keep up the good fight; I am glad you reached out and went to AA. I know it isn’t for everyone, but they sure rescued me when I needed them most.

    Like

    • Thank you! I was so afraid for so long to reach out and try AA. I am so glad I did. I feel better so much already. It’s really weird actually. I am going away for the holiday and already missing that I won’t be able to fit in a meeting. Thanks for your support!

      Like

  2. Congrats!! That’s fantastic!! 30 days seemed impossible when I was new. I couldn’t imagine 30 minutes, let alone 30 days. What a wonderful thing…and feeling that you’ve found a home in recover, 12-step…you’ll never be alone 🙂

    Hugs,
    Paul

    Like

    • thanks Paul~ I can’t believe how much better I feel already and that is just from going to a few meetings. I’m still amazed!

      Like

  3. Yay for you!!! Congrats on 30 days and also congrats on finding a home group. AA is a great tool for a lot of people and finding a place you feel at home rules. Making this decision for yourself feels pretty good doesn’t it? You’re listening to yourself and it’s so refreshing 😀 Big hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

